Forum guidelines
  • Home
  • »
  • C# Language
  • »
  • Working with picture box in C# windows application forms.
AuthorQuestion
Working with picture box in C# windows application forms.
Posted on: 26 Dec 2011
Hi to all.

I was working on an application in windows forms using C# in Microsoft visual studio.

I'm not new to windows programming but i am new in using the picture box.

My question may seem very dumb but i please if you can help me out.

My application is simple: It simply accepts 3 integer values and it determines if these values can sides of a triangle or not, plus it also deduces (if it is a triangle) the type i.e. equilateral, isosceles, scalene triangle. 

When the user enters the three integers, the user must press a button "Get Results" and after pressing this button, i made a picture box showing the type of triangle.
I used this code:

pb1.Image = new Bitmap("C:\\scab.bmp");

But the problem is that if i remove the images from that location, it gives a run-time error! So what code should i use so that these images can be saved in the applet and if i use it on another PC it wont crush.

I know that these types of applications my have to include a "resources" folder with them but if possible how can i do so that this applet is a a single file and can be executed anywhere without having to carry the images around every time.

Thanks for you support... Hope i have a suitable answer ASAP!.

Best Regards & Happy Holidays to everyone
Manuel Portelli

AuthorReply
Roy S
accepted
Re: Working with picture box in C# windows application forms.
Posted on: 26 Dec 2011   Accepted Answer
You're working with Visual Studio, right? Then it's very easy to add the bitmap to your project, just go to the properties of your project, select the resources tab on the left. Then just drag the bitmap you want to use into there and it should be added to the resources.

Now you can access that bitmap by using:
pb1.Image = YourNamespace.Properties.Resources.BitmapName;