Reader Level:
Articles

Disable Synchronized User Settings In Windows 8

By Arun Choudhary on July 23, 2012
This article describes how to disable Sync User Settings in Windows 8.
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3664

Introduction

In this article we are explaining how to disable Sync User Settings in Windows 8. In Windows 8, you can create a Microsoft Account and you can integrate and users can easily sync their PC Settings with other Windows 8 PCs. If you want to sync from one PC to another PC then you can sign in using a Microsoft Account, then you can synchronize all your settings such as Application Settings, Shortcuts and others with any other PC and tablets running Windows 8.

Windows 8 provides the option to disable synchronization of settings for all users. If you want to disable it, you can either create a new local account or disable synchronizing from your Microsoft Account. If you are a System Administrator then you can use the Local Group Policy Editor to disable Windows 8 Synchronization features for all users.

Steps How to Disable Sync your Settings for all Users in Windows 8

Step 1

You move your mouse to the bottom-right and click on search as shown below:

windows8-start-screen.jpg

Step 2

In the search box you enter the regedit under the application tab and click on the window that is shown.

apps-search-in-windows8.jpg

Step 3

In the window that is shown, you will see the "Local Group Policy Editor" window.

local-group-policy-editor-in-windows8.jpg

Step 4

In this step I want to disable synchronization of your settings for all users in Windows 8. Click on Computer Configuration sub-category Administrative Template sub-category Windows Component sub-category Sync Settings and click on the "Do Not Synchronized User Settings".

User Configuration << Administrative Template << Windows Components << Sync Settings

do-not-synchronize-user-settings-in-windows8.jpg

Step 5

In this step right-click on the "Do Not Synchronized User Settings" and select the edit tab and click on the edit tab.

edit-do-not-synchronize-user-settings-in-windows8.jpg

Step 6

In this step, If you click on the "Enabled" Button then the user settings will not be synchronized with other computers and then click on the OK or Apply Button. If you have "Disabled" or "Not Configured" this setting then the user settings will be synchronized with other computers. When done, click the OK or Apply Button.

disable-do-not-synchronize-user-settings-in-windows8.jpg

Arun Choudhary

Arun is very much interested in Microsoft & Life Style Accessory Design and Working with Microsoft Technologies. His expert areas are C# .NET, ASP.NET, ADO.NET, SQL Server, HTML, Window 7 etc....I have done MCA. Insp... Read more

COMMENT USING

Trending up