Google Maps Now Allows You To Share Your Location

Currently, Google has announced the release of location sharing functionality, right within Google Maps.
 
The company, in its official blog, states,
 
“Google Maps users worldwide will be able to answer those questions in just a few taps, without ever leaving the app. On both Android and iOS, you’ll be able to share your real-time location with anyone. And the people you share with will be able to see your location on Android, iPhone, mobile web, and even desktop.”
 
Once this particular feature goes live on Android as well as on iOS, Google Maps will allow you to share your location for just a particular period of time, say for half an hour. You will also be able to turn off location sharing for a particular person at any point of time. While you are travelling, you can opt for sharing your location, and then stop sharing it once you have reached your set destination. In addition to this, if someone is sharing their location with you, you can easily remove it. The app will however always go on to share your location information, and your sharing will go on to be reflected on "My Activity" dashboard from Google.
 
Earlier, Google allowed people to share their locations, which included Google Latitude and the recent one being with Trusted Contacts. However, Google Maps is Google Maps, and it has 1 billion active users. The best part of this is that you do not need to have the app installed so as to see where your family and friends are; you can easily go on to share your location, using the short link.
 
Google concluded by saying,
 
“Location sharing on Google Maps is rolling out soon worldwide, and you’ll be able to quickly let your friends and family know where you are and when you’ll get where you’re going. The answer to “where are you?” is only a tap away.”