C# Corner

Resources  
  • 35 Essential Basic-Advanced SQL Query-Questions Asked In Technical InterviewsSep 19, 2017. These are all query-based questions asked in tech interviews, including some simple looking tricky one liner SQL statements and joins.
  • Exposing Local Web Server To Internet Using NgrokSep 19, 2017. I was recently working on some bot framework applications where I wanted to test if my bot application was working properly with different available channels like Facebook messenger, Skype etc. But there was one problem. Before I could integrate my bot with different channels, I needed to publish my bot application and register it on http://dev.botframework.com/ site. Also the endpoint should support HTTPS. This is where ngrok comes into play.
  • Encrypt And Decrypt User Password In SQL Server DB Using C# Winform ApplicationSep 18, 2017. In this article we are going to learn how to maintain the user login details in sql server table with password encryption format and decrypt the user password and validate the credentials in login form.
  • Introduction To Tag Helpers In ASP.NET CoreSep 18, 2017. Tag helper is a new feature in ASP.net MVC. It enables server-side code to create and render HTML elements in Razor View. It is feature of Razor View engine. They are the C# classes which participate in view generation by creating the HTML elements. Using the tag helper, we can change the content of HTML element and add additional attributes to the HTML element. It is very similar to HTML helper in ASP.net MVC.
  • Missing Security Section In PWA Settings In Project Server 2016Sep 18, 2017. In this article, we will discuss and solve the issue of Missing Security Setting in PWA Settings in Project Server 2016 / 2013.
  • Create Log Backup Maintenance Plan In SQL Server 2016Sep 17, 2017. In this article, we will explain how to take log backups frequently by creating a Log Backup Maintenance Plan in SQL Server 2016
  • If I Ran A Software Company - Part OneSep 17, 2017. I am sure most developers wished they could run a software company or development team in the hopes to do it better. I am one of these developers. I have lead teams before and even was Director of Development for a short time at Proflowers.com. But, I have never run a software company, except for my own consulting company called NicheWare that I started in the 90’s that only has one employee… me!
  • Convert Rows To Columns Using Dynamic Pivot In SQL ServerSep 17, 2017. In this article, we will show how to convert rows to columns using Dynamic Pivot in SQL Server.
  • Print Dialog And Print Preview Tools Using Entire Windows Form To PrintSep 15, 2017. In this article, we will discuss how to print an entire Windows form using print dialog & print preview tools step-by-step in a Windows Forms application step-by-step.
  • SharePoint Permission Mode Vs Project Permission Mode In Project Server 2016 / 2013Sep 14, 2017. In this article, we will discuss the Permission Modes in Project Server 2016 / 2013.
  • SQL Server DB Backup Using Stored Procedure In WinForm ApplicationSep 14, 2017. In this article we are going to learn how to get database backup using stored procedure in SQL server in C# Winform applications.
  • Build Chat Application On MEA2N Stack - Part OneSep 13, 2017. In this article we are going to build a basic chat application on NodeJs platform using Express and Angular 2. For saving chat history we will use MongoDB. We will be using socket.io for communication between server and client.
  • Update Managed Metadata Field Using SharePoint Designer 2013 WorkflowSep 12, 2017. In this article, I am going to explain how we can update a managed metadata field using SharePoint 2013 Designer Workflow. This solution will work for both SharePoint 2013 On-Premise and SharePoint Online (Office 365). I tested the below solution in Office 365 environment.
  • SharePoint 2013 - On Premises - Powershell Script To Import Termsets On Given Site From .csv File In Specific FolderSep 10, 2017. In this article I’ll explain how to import multiple termsets using .CSV file from one specific folder.
  • SharePoint 2016/2013/Online - Sites Health Monitoring By PowerShell AutomationSep 08, 2017. In this article, we will discuss a simple yet powerful automation technique using PowerShell that will try pinging the Site and if it fails, it will send the email notifications to the designated SharePoint Admins for the Site.
  • Visual Studio Team Service - Trigger A Build Using Any HTTP ClientSep 07, 2017. In this post, we are going to see how easily we can trigger a new build in VSTS from any of our widely used HTTP clients likeFfiddler or Postman.
  • How To Consume Web API Through SSIS PackageSep 07, 2017. In this article, I have illustrated the purpose of SSIS with Web API. It shows how SSIS can use Web API to do certain operations, like updating the database table based on Service response, and process the data, etc.
  • Find Out Creation And Modification Date Of Database Objects Like Tables And Stored ProceduresSep 07, 2017. Database Object refers to Table, Stored procedure, View, Function etc.; in other words, all the elements that are created for data storage and manipulation.
  • Advantages Of SharePoint 2016 From A User PerspectiveSep 06, 2017. You might have seen many articles/blogs on the internet about new and deprecated features of SharePoint 2016 or about the comparison between SharePoint 2013 and 2016. However, this article is mainly focused on the new changes introduced in SharePoint 2016, which will help the end users or business users in their day-to-day SharePoint usage.
  • How Should We Store Images And Blob Files In SQL ServerSep 06, 2017. There is always a requirement from developers: How should I store images and BLOB files in SQL Server ? In this post let's explore the data types and methods used for storing Binary Large Objects also know as BLOBs, such as images and sounds, into SQL Server.
  • New String Function In SQL Server 2017Sep 06, 2017. It requires one separator argument and a minimum of two arguments otherwise it raises an error. All the arguments are implicitly converted to string types and then they are concatenated.
  • Understand Serverless Architecture In AzureSep 05, 2017. This article will give an overview about the server-less architecture functionality present in Azure using Logic App.
  • How To Backup A Mirrored Database Using SQL AgentSep 04, 2017. Database mirroring is a primarily software solution for increasing database availability. Mirroring is implemented on a per-database basis and works only with databases that use the full recovery model. The simple and bulk-logged recovery models do not support database mirroring. Therefore, all bulk operations are always fully logged. Database mirroring works with any supported database compatibility level.
  • SharePoint 2016/2013/Online - How To Upload Files To SharePoint Document Libraries By PowerShell AutomationSep 02, 2017. In this demo we will explore the PowerShell code to upload the file to SharePoint Online/On Premise Implementations which represents just a part of the complete automation process.
  • SharePoint 2016/2013/Online - How Download SharePoint List Item AttachmentsSep 02, 2017. In this article we will explore the PowerShell to download the List Item attachments.
  • Custom Left Navigation In SharePoint 2013Sep 01, 2017. In this article, I explore how to create a custom left navigation using Out of Box, without custom development. As we know that there are a lot of ways of creating left navigation, here you will see a new approach for creating a custom left navigation in SharePoint 2013.
  • How To Upgrade AD FS 3.0 To AD FS Server 2016 - Part TwoSep 01, 2017. This article is in continuation of my previous one. Here we will see how to upgrade AD FS 3.0 to AD FS Server 2016.
  • How To Upgrade ADFS 3.0 To AD FS Server 2016 - Part OneAug 31, 2017. Being said that, Now a days ADFS is one of the very critical infra since it is used for Identity services which being used for office365, Azure, Applications be it in any which way it is been created/developed in terms of SAAS, PAAS and On-premises. I have seen the scenarios where ADFS is down, the complete company’s major applications are also going down. So we need to carefully plan and upgrade the ADFS infra. Any wrong command or wrong execution plan can mislead the infra and complete ADS infra can go down.
  • Extend Built In Label Tag Helper In ASP.NET Core ApplicationAug 31, 2017. Tag helpers is one of the new feature introduced in ASP.NET Core which allows us to add server side code while creating and rendering HTML elements. They are similar to HTML helpers in ASP.NET MVC. ASP.NET Core comes with various built in tag helpers for rendering HTML elements like label, input, img, select etc.
  • Working With JSON In SQL Server 2016Aug 28, 2017. JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) is a lightweight data interchange format. It is language independent, easy to understand and self-describing. It is used as an alternative to XML. JSON is a very popular data interchange format nowadays. Most modern services return the data into the JSON text.
  • Creating Login Form For Users With Image Uploading For Password RecallAug 27, 2017. The article is an alternate method of creating a login form where the conventional way of giving a password hint will be given as a question. In this, you can add an image which can be your hint if you forget your password.
  • New Features In SQL Server 2017Aug 27, 2017. There are many new features introduced with SQL server 2017 and also there is some performance improvement in existing features. Using the following links, we can learn more details about the new features in SQL server 2017.
  • Availability Of Azure Database For MySQL And Azure Database For PostgreSQL In IndiaAug 26, 2017. In Indian data centers (Central and West India), the public preview of Azure Database for MySQL and Azure Database for PostgreSQL are available. And their services provide app developers the ability to choose from an even wider number of geographies, and deploy their favorite database on Azure, without the complexity of managing and administering the databases.
  • Create Your Own Home .NET /Apache Web Server In 30 MinutesAug 25, 2017. Most C# developers have been yearning to install their work on Apache and Linux, using the Mono project for years. Unfortunately this has been historically very difficult, since the documentation for how to do this has been lacking. In addition, securing and configuring the system after you've installed it, often requires a whole slew of knowledge with which most C# developers are not very familiar.
  • Remove U+200B (Zero-Width Space) In RichTextHTML Field SharePointAug 22, 2017. In this article, we will explore how to resolve the error that arrives while implementing the validation to enhanced/rich text box of SharePoint 2013 using jQuery. We will call this error the “Zero-width space” issue.
  • JavaScript Code For Validating U.S. Format Phone NumbersAug 21, 2017. In this article, we shall learn how to do client side validation of US format phone numbers in three textbox fields. It means the application will be more responsive because the load on the server is reduced. JavaScript uses the client machine processing power.
  • Setup And Start The SharePoint 2013 User Profile ServiceAug 17, 2017. In this article, you will learn how to setup and start the SharePoint 2013 User Profile Service.
  • Load Twitter Data Into SQL DatabaseAug 15, 2017. The requirement is to extract the data from Twitter and load extracted data into SQL Database. For this demonstration I am going to read the Indian Film actor Kamal Haasan's tweets and load that into SQL Server 2016 Database.
  • Live XAML Previewer In Xamarin.FormsAug 13, 2017. In this article, we are going to use XAML Preview in Xamarin.Forms. Xamarin.Forms are used to make cross platform applications by using C# as a backend language and XAML for front-end of the application. Let’s discuss about XAML Previewer.
  • Google OAuth 2.0 Authorization In Azure APIAug 13, 2017. Here, I am going to demonstrate how can we use Google OAuth 2.0 in Azure API. App Service Authentication/Authorization is exposed in the Azure Preview Management Portal.
  • SharePoint 2016/2013 - How To Install SharePoint Client Components SDKAug 12, 2017. In this article, we will look for another necessary component that is required when preparing client machines for CSOM based PowerShell Development.
  • SharePoint 2016/2013/Online - How To Download SharePoint Files By PowerShell AutomationAug 12, 2017. In this article, we will explore the PowerShell way of downloading the files in SharePoint Document Libraries.
  • Join Two Lists Using REST In SharePoint 2013Aug 11, 2017. In this article, we are going to discuss how to join two lists in SharePoint 2013 using REST.
  • Building Container Image Through AutomationAug 10, 2017. The following is the continuation of the previous document. Here we will work with the automation concept through which the container images can be created.
  • Making The Switch As A Software DeveloperAug 09, 2017. After nearly seven years at my previous position, I've decided to finally make a change. When this post goes live, I'll officially be working for the engineering team at Bay Dynamics, a San Francisco-based Risk Management and Cyber Security firm. I'm extraordinarily excited to get to join the amazing team there and be a part of something much larger than anything I've worked within the past.
  • Create SQL Server Database Project With Visual StudioAug 08, 2017. In this article, we’re going to learn about how to we can manage our database scripts using Visual Studio’s SQL server database project.
  • Deploying An Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS Virtual Machine Using Microsoft AzureAug 08, 2017. In computing, a Virtual Machine is an emulation of a computer system. Virtual machines are based on computer architectures and provide functionality of a physical computer. Their implementations may involve specialized hardware, software, or a combination. Azure Virtual Machine (VM) is one of several types of on-demand , scalable computing resources that Azure offers.
  • How To Determine The Version And Edition Of SQL Server And Its ComponentsAug 06, 2017. For Business Intelligence features such as Integration Services, Reporting Services, and Analysis Services, you may have to install the latest service packs, cumulative updates, and hotfixes on the client-side computers to obtain the latest fixes while developing SSIS packages, SSRS reports, or Analysis Services cubes.
  • Building Your Own Container ImagesAug 04, 2017. Here, we will be building our own container images. For doing this we have two different ways, namely manual method and automated method. Let us see both ways.
  • How To Create A Custom Master Page Using Design Manager In SharePoint 2016 - Step By StepAug 03, 2017. Design Manager is a nifty tool introduced in SharePoint 2013 that uses an HTML based approach to convert static HTML templates into SharePoint master pages and page layouts.
  • Pulling Base Container ImagesAug 03, 2017. So far, we have deployed our container in the Nano Server VM and Windows Server VM. The next piece of work is to pull down the Images for these containers. The Docker is the container which we have created so far. In the following lab, we will pull some image for that container form the Microsoft Container images repository.
  • Running Windows Containers On Windows Container HostsAug 03, 2017. In this module, we will be seeing the different commanding techniques that can be used to work with the containers. We will check on how to start and stop a container, and to run them interactively or even in the background.
  • Configuring Nano Server For Remote ConnectionsAug 02, 2017. Here, we are going to connect with the Docker engine remotely using the PowerShell. For this we can either use our local machine or a VM. Before we proceed further, make sure that your Nano Server is up and running.
  • Azure Portal New Preview Of App Service DomainAug 02, 2017. Azure team continues working on improvement of their website, and keeps adding more user-friendly and easy options for users. In this series, now they have launched a new preview of app service domain.
  • Creating Windows Server Machine On Virtual Network And Load Balancing itAug 01, 2017. Welcome back to an article about creating another Windows Server Machine on Virtual Network and to work with Load Balancing. Here with this demo article we will be working with the Virtual Network and we will be creating a Load Balancer on it.
  • Connecting To Docker In Nano ServerAug 01, 2017. This is about creating a firewall path in between the local machine and the Nano server to get connected with the Docker. This will give access for local machines to access the docker.
  • Installing Docker In Nano ServerJul 31, 2017. This is about the installation of Docker in the Nano Server VM which has been created previously.
  • Creating A V-Net And Adding A Windows Server Machine On ItJul 31, 2017. Welcome to an article about creating a Virtual Network and adding a Windows Server Machine on it
  • Installing Windows Server-2016 Nano Server Using PowerShellJul 30, 2017. The following exercise is all about the installation of Windows Server 2016-Nano Server. Open your PowerShell in the administrator privileges.
  • Installing Docker In Windows ServerJul 29, 2017. The following document will provide you the step by step guide to create a windows server operating system and install the docker in it. To proceed with this, you need to login into your Microsoft Azure portal.
  • Creating Web API With ASP.NET Core Using Visual Studio CodeJul 28, 2017. Web API is is framework that allows us to build web or http based endpoints. If you are building services today for mobile, HTML 5, and even client-server desktop applications, all these different types of applications need services in the backend.
  • Getting Started With Visual Studio Team ServicesJul 28, 2017. In this article, we will discuss in detail about the Visual Studio Team Services, walk through VSTS features, compare with VSTS and TFS, learn how to create VSTS account and how to publish the source code to VSTS.
  • Managing Your Traffic On Server Applications Using Geographic RoutingJul 28, 2017. Welcome to my first writing on Azure Traffic Manager using Geographic Routing.
  • Combination Of Id-ParentId And HierarchyId Approaches To Hierarchical DataJul 26, 2017. How to combine the Id-ParentId and HierarchyId approaches to keep and fetch the data in hierarchical and alphabetical order.
  • How To Check Long Server-Side Process Progress In Real TimeJul 26, 2017. Today, I will show you a way to monitor a long server-side process (like, a long running process, file generation etc.) in real time in your web application. The whole demonstration will be covered through asp.net C# but you can also implement the same sort of code in other languages.
  • Learn MVC Using Angular Dynamic Control In DataTableJul 26, 2017. In this article, we will learn MVC using Angular data binding for dynamic control in datatable from server side Web API using visual studio 2017.
  • How To Debug Custom Applications In SharePoint 2013Jul 25, 2017. From this article, SharePoint beginners can learn how to debug SharePoint custom applications and standard ways to debug.
  • Cache Headers For MVC File Action Result (ASP.NET Core 2.0 Preview 2)Jul 25, 2017. I’m pretty sure that you are familiar with StaticFiles middleware of the framework. All it does is serve static files (CSS, JavaScript, image, etc.) from a predefined/configurable file location (typically from inside the web root, i.e., wwwroot folder). But along the way, it also does some cache headers configuration. The reason behind this is you don’t want your server to be called up every time for a file that doesn’t change frequently. Let’s see how a request for a static file looks in the browser’s network tab.
  • Angular, Bootstrap And ASP.NET MVC - Part TwoJul 25, 2017. In this tutorial series, we are going to learn AngularJS as a server side, Bootstrap for layout styling and ASP.NET MVC as server side.
  • Angular, BootStrap And ASP.NET MVC - Part OneJul 24, 2017. In this tutorial series, we are going to learn AngularJS as a server side, Bootstrap for layout styling and ASP.NET MVC as server side.
  • Packaging And Deploying In SharePoint 2013 Designer WorkflowJul 24, 2017. In this article, we will explore all the steps regarding Packaging, Deploying, and workflow registration for SharePoint 2013 Designer Workflow..
  • Creating An Azure SQL Database And Connecting Through SQL Server Management StudioJul 23, 2017. This article demonstrates how to create an azure SQL Database, setting the Firewall rule and connecting through the SQL Server Management Studio.
  • Project Server 2013 Migration From One Farm To AnotherJul 21, 2017. In this article, I will explain step by step how to migrate/move a PWA Instance from one farm to another in Project Server 2013.
  • Change SharePoint ListView To jQuery Datatable Using JSLinkJul 21, 2017. Jslink is javascript link [ CSR - Client-side rendering] this feature was introduced in Sharepoint 2013 for customizing Sharepoint list forms Newform, displayform, editform. Using this feature you are able to change the overall look and feel of the sharepoint listp
  • What Is Three State Workflow In SharePoint 2013?Jul 18, 2017. Microsoft has already provided an Out Of Box feature Called Three State Workflow. Using Three State Workflow, we can track our list or library in three states . This is very useful when tracking issues, project tasks, leads, or other similar items.
  • Get User Profile Properties Data in SharePoint Designer 2013 WorkflowJul 18, 2017. Workflows helps SharePoint users to collaborate on documents, list items and to manage tasks by implementing business processes on documents and list items. Creating and assigning tasks to Manager is a very common scenario in workflows. All the user related information is stored in User profile service application (UPA). Although this sounds very straightforward, getting the user profile properties of the logged in user is very tricky in SPD 2013 workflow.
  • Taking Script From Database In SQL Server In Different ModeJul 17, 2017. This article explains how to take the script from database in SQL server in a different mode. Normally we take back up our entire database as “.bak, .mdf, .ldf” file but sometimes we need to alter, update or delete then create our database based on our database modification.
  • Ability To Develop HTTP Methods Or Verbs (GET, POST, PUT, DELETE etc)Jul 17, 2017. Before going to explain the significant verbs or methods (GET, POST, PUT, DELETE, HEAD, OPTIONS, TRACE and CONNECT) for the communication among different clients and servers, first of all we should understand what HTTP methods are and how they are useful in real time.
  • Create SSRS Drilldown ReportJul 17, 2017. Create SSRS drill down report, add link enable/disable based on specific condition, adding download links in reports.
  • Selecting A Content Management System That Supports Your BusinessJul 17, 2017. Recently, a customer asked for a Content Management System (CMS), and being a SharePoint developer and consultant, I proposed SharePoint Server as CMS. Afterwards, by analyzing different CMS in the market, I thought of writing this article and will focus mainly on a CMS named – “Sitefinity” (http://www.sitefinity.com/).
  • Site Columns In SharePoint 2013Jul 15, 2017. Site column is on of the good features in SharePoint . You can reuse the column within your site and subsites. you can also reuse within content type in SharePoint.
  • SharePoint 2016 Build NumbersJul 15, 2017. SharePoint Server 2016 released on March 14, 2016. So let's try to track all the version numbers, Build numbers, and Issue lists.
  • Create A Content Type In SharePoint 2013Jul 14, 2017. Here I am going to explain how to create a content type in SharePoint 2013 or SharePoint online and use the same content type in SharePoint list .
  • How Autodiscover Service Works In ExchangeJul 14, 2017. In this article, we will cover how Autodiscover works in Exchange to configure outlook profile for users without manual intermission of the user or administrator. Let’s begin!!
  • How To Create A List/Library Programmatically In SharePoint 2013Jul 13, 2017. We need to install Visual Studio in our machine for creating a list using SharePoint Server Object Model. The Server Object Model will be executed in the server side & it provides a rich set of classes in representing & manipulating SharePoint objects. Server object model is like production server environment to access the data where Sharepoint is installed on the machine.
  • Commands For "Add", "Install", "Update" The Solutions For SharePoint SiteJul 13, 2017. In this article, I would like to share the steps and commands for how to Add, Install and Update, Uninstall and Remove the solutions (WSP Package) in SharePoint server.
  • Disposition Approval Workflow In SharePoint 2013Jul 12, 2017. Microsoft has provided so many outbox workflows to manage our list or libraries etc. Disposition Approval workflow is one of the OOB features in SharePoint 2013.
  • Mirroring Database In SQL ServerJul 12, 2017. When there is any automatic failure we need another server that will monitor the principal server.
  • Consume Web API In Winform For File HandlingJul 12, 2017. In this article, we will see in detail how to consume Web API in Windows Form for Uploading File to Web server, get the list of file Information from Server folder and download the file from Server using C# Windows application.
  • How To Save Site As A Site Templates In SharePoint OnlineJul 11, 2017. If you are using the publishing site template then this option will not be available. Also if you have a team site with publishing feature activated on it then this option will disappear.
  • Deploying The Windows Server 2016 Virtual Machine Using Microsoft AzureJul 10, 2017. This article shows how to deploy the Windows server 2016 virtual machine in Azure Portal.
  • How To Fix TF30063 Error - You Are Not Authorized To Access Team Foundation Service ErrorJul 10, 2017. Recently I was working with Microsoft Visual Studio 2017 and got the following error with TFS, which says, “You are not authorized to access Team Foundation Service”. The error code was TF30063. This was a surprise for me because it was working earlier. I do not have any clue about this.
  • Getting Started With MongoDB - MongoDB In Azure Cosmos DBJul 10, 2017. My last article demonstrated how to interact with the MongoDB database server from a simple C# console application. Now, when you build enterprise applications using MongoDB, your local database server should always be up and running for 365 days or more. This is not appropriate for enterprise applications.
  • Monitoring Our Database When Accessing From Outside Or Applications In SQL ServerJul 08, 2017. This article explains how to monitor our database when accessing from outside or any other applications in an easy way.
  • Get Started With Azure DevTest Creating Server Machines With ArtifactsJul 07, 2017. Azure DevTest is an effective resource that Azure has come up with for supporting developers and testers to avoid environment delays, allow self-service actions on turning the VM’s (Virtual Machines) on or off, and works with simple cost effective solutions to leverage the application which we host on the cloud.
  • SharePoint 2013 - Uploading Multiple Attachments To The New Item On List Using JSOM And REST APIJul 06, 2017. In this article we will explore how we can attach multiple attachments to the new item on list using JSOM and REST API.
  • Simulate SharePoint Online Timer Jobs Using Azure FunctionsJul 05, 2017. SharePoint Server provides native Timer Jobs that inherit SPJobDefinition class to run at regular intervals defined in the SPSchedule object. This way we can create solutions that have to be iteratively run to process logic at regular intervals. However, in case of SharePoint Online Native Timer Jobs cannot be used.
  • Installing SQL Server vNext On Linux - Part TwoJul 04, 2017. With the release of Microsoft SQL Server on Linux, it is a huge step towards gaining markets in Database Technologies giving competition to other RDBMS software. Microsoft SQL Server is not only on Windows but it is on Linux also and people who love Linux can check the flavor of SQL Server in the Linux environment.
  • Learn AWS With MS-SQL(DB) Using SQL ClientJul 01, 2017. You want to login to the AWS console here. If you have no login register new users in here. After registering amazon will provide one year free access.
  • Getting Started With MongoDB - MongoDB With C#Jul 01, 2017. In my previous article, you got a little knowledge of MongoDB basics. This article will focus on doing CRUD operations from a C# console application. The working mechanism will be same for web applications and desktop applications. Open up the mongod.exe in the command prompt to keep the MongoDB server running while executing our C# application.

About Team-Foundation-Server-2013-Preview

NA
File APIs for .NET
Aspose are the market leader of .NET APIs for file business formats – natively work with DOCX, XLSX, PPT, PDF, MSG, MPP, images formats and many more!