How To Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog In Windows 10

Introduction

 
By default, the Delete Confirmation Dialog box feature is disabled in Windows 10. If by chance, the user clicks on the delete option or presses the delete button, the file or folder will directly move to the Recycle Bin.
 
If the "Don't move to the Recycle Bin" feature is enabled in your system then the system will permanently delete all the selected files and folders without sending them to the Recycle Bin, because the Delete Confirmation Dialog box feature is disabled in your system. So, it is necessary to enable the "Delete Confirmation Dialog" box feature in your system.
 
And, after enabling this feature when the user deletes any file or folder, the confirmation dialog will appear on the screen with the following message "Are you sure you want to move this file/folder/shortcut to the Recycle Bin?".
 
This tutorial will show you various ways on, how to enable the delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 10.
 

Method 1 - Via Recycle Bin Properties

 
By using the Recycle Bin Properties option, the user can easily enable the delete confirmation dialog box option. Follow the given below instructions to proceed.
 
Step 1
 
On the desktop, navigate to the "Recycle Bin" folder.
 
Navigate the "Recycle Bin" folder.
 
Step 2
 
Right-click on the Recycle Bin folder and click on the "Properties" option.
 
Right-click on it and click on the "Properties" option.
 
Step 3
 
"Recycle Bin Properties" window will appear on the screen.
 
window will appear on the screen
 
Step 4
 
Click (select) on the "Display delete confirmation dialog" option and click on the "Apply" button to proceed.
 
now, select the last option
 
And, when you delete any file or folder then, the delete confirmation dialog will appear on the screen.
 
tryconfirmation will appear on the sereen

Method 2 - Using the Registry Editor

 
By using the registry editor, the user can also enable the delete confirmation dialog box. Follow the below instructions.
 
Step 1
 
From the Start menu, open the Run dialog box or you can press the "Window + R" key to open the RUN window.
 
Step 2
 
Type "regedit.exe" and press enter key to open the "Registry Editor".
 
Step 3
 
Navigate the following path: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies.
 
navigate the following path
 
Step 4
 
On the right-side, right-click on the blank area and select New > DWORD.
 
create new dword
 
Step 5
 
Now, give a name to the new DWORD. And set its "value data" to 1 by double clicking on it.
 
set its value to 1
 
Step 6
 
Restart or sign out and sign in to your system to see the changes.
 

Conclusion

 
By following the above steps, you can enable the delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 10.
 
 
I hope you enjoyed this article. Follow C# Corner to learn more new and amazing things about Windows 10.
 
Thanks for reading this article.