This article describes a new feature, Site Closure and Deletion, in SharePoint 2013.
Site Policy
A site policy is used to define when the site will be closed and when the site will be deleted. Please refer to http://office.microsoft.com/en-001/sharepoint-help/site-closure-policies-HA102925509.aspx to learn more about Site Policies in SharePoint 2013. If you define site policies in a content-type hub, then you can publish policies and share them across site collections. Please refer to http://www.c-sharpcorner.com/UploadFile/anavijai/site-collections-in-sharepoint-across-site-collections-in-sh/ to learn more about publishing site policies across site collections.
How to create a site policy?
- Navigate to the SharePoint site.
- Click on "Settings" and then click on "Site Settings".

- Click on "Site Settings" available under the Site Collection Administration section.

- Click on "Create" to create a new site policy.

- Enter the Name and Description.

- The following options will be available under the Site Closure and Deletion section.
- Do not close or delete the site automatically.
- Delete sites automatically.
- Close and delete sites automatically.
- Do not close or delete the site automatically: The site should be deleted manually by the site owner.
- Delete sites automatically: The site will be deleted automatically but the site should be closed by the site owner. When you select this option for the site then you will be able to see the following options.

- Close and delete sites automatically: The site will be closed and then deleted automatically. When you select this option you will be able to see the following options.

- I have selected "Close and delete sites automatically" for this site policy.
- Site Collection Closure: When the site collection is closed you can make the site to be read-only. I have checked this option so that once the site is closed it will be read only.

- Click on "OK".
- The Site Policy will be created.






Join the conversation! Your thoughts help the community grow.