Get All The Site Content Types in SharePoint 2010 Using ECMAScript


In this article you will see how to get all the site content types in SharePoint 2010 using ECMAScript.
(Navigate to the site, click on Site Actions. Click on Site Settings. In the Galleries section, click on Site Content Types).

Steps Involved

  1. Navigate to the SharePoint site (I have a site page created in my site where I am going to add the content editor web part).
  2. Go to Site Actions, click on Edit Page.

  3. Click on the Insert tab in the ribbon interface and then click on Web Part button.

  4. Select Media and Content in the Categories section and then click on Content Editor.

  5. Click on Add.
  6. The Content Editor web part will be added to the site page.
  7. Click on the down arrow and then click on Edit Web Part.

  8. Click on "Click here to add new content".

  9. Click on the Format Text tab in the ribbon interface and then click on the HTML drop down.

  10. Click on Edit HTML source.
  11. HTML source window will pop up.

  12. Copy and paste the following script.

      <script language="ecmascript" type="text/ecmascript">

            var contentTypeCollection;

            function getSiteContentTypes() {
                var clientContext = new SP.ClientContext.get_current();
                if (clientContext != undefined && clientContext != null) {
                    var web = clientContext.get_web();
                    this.contentTypeCollection = web.get_contentTypes();
                    clientContext.executeQueryAsync(Function.createDelegate(this, this.onQuerySucceeded), Function.createDelegate(this, this.onQueryFailed));

            function onQuerySucceeded() {
                var contentType = 'Site Content Types:\n '
                var contentTypeEnumerator = this.contentTypeCollection.getEnumerator();
                while (contentTypeEnumerator.moveNext()) {
                    var content = contentTypeEnumerator.get_current();
                    contentType += content.get_name() + '\n';

            function onQueryFailed(sender, args) {
                alert('Request failed. ' + args.get_message() + '\n' + args.get_stackTrace());
        <input id="btnGetSiteContentTypes" onclick="getSiteContentTypes()" type="button"
            value="Get Site Content Types"


  13. Click on Ok.
  14. In the ribbon interface click on Save & Close button.

  15. In the content editor web part you can find a button named "Get Site Content Types"; click on that button.

  16. An alert will pop up displaying all the site content types.


SP.Web.contentTypes Property -


Thus in this article you have seen how to get all the site content types in SharePoint 2010 using ECMAScript.