Close Files Currently Used by Remote User

In this article you will learn how to close files currently used by a remote user.

Introduction

In my previous article you learned How to Share a Drive/Folder by using Windows Interface.

In this article you will learn how to close files currently used by a remote user.

Step 1

First of all open the "Computer Management" from the Start Menu of your system.

share drive 1.jpg

Step 2

Now your Computer Management Window will be opened that will look like this:

share drive 2.jpg

Step 3

On the left hand side of the Computer Management you will see many options available; one of them will be named "Shared Folders", expand this option.

stop sharing1.jpg

Step 4

After expanding the Shared Folders you will see three options available to choose from, one of them will be named "Open Files", click on this option to see the files that are currently accessed by remote users but remember that this folder will show the files only if someone is accessing them anywhere otherwise nothing will be shown here.

open file1.jpg

Step 5

Now right-click on any file opened outside and choose "Close Open File", this will close this file and the outsider or remote user will not be able to access the file anymore.

open file2.jpg

Step 6

But if you want to close all the opened files then go to the Action Pane and click on "More Actions", now you will get the option "Disconnect All Open Files", this will close all the open files by a single click.

open file3.jpg