How to Configure DTC Security to Allow Remote Transactions on Your System

In this article you will learn how to configure DTC Security to allow your system to participate in Remote Transections.

Introduction

In my previous articles first I told you about Distributed Transaction under Application Server in Windows Server 2012 and after that I told you about How to Configure DTC Security to allow Local Transactions on your System.

In this article you will learn how to configure DTC Security to allow your system to participate in Remote Transections.

In my previous article only the local transactions available on the system were allowed to take place but through this article your system will be able to participate in Remote Transactions as well.

Step 1

First of all Logon to your Windows Server 2012 as Administrator. Now go to the "Start Menu" and search for "component services".

component1.jpg

Now as you open the Component Services, this type of window will appear in front of you:

component2.jpg

Here you will get an option named as "Computers", double-click on this option to open it.

Step 2

In Computers you will find your Computer name (as I have "My Computer"), open this as well by double-clicking on it.

component3.jpg

Now you will get 3-4 options to choose from, here you must open the "Distributed Transaction Coordinator".

component4.jpg

Step 3

Now "Local DTC" will appear in front of you. You must right-click on it to open it's Properties.

component5.jpg

Now the "Local DTC Property" window will be opened. Here you will see three options in the head section, in other words Tracing, Logging and Security. Sinces in this article we are discussing the security, you need to click on the "Security" button.

Step 4

Under the Security Settings you need to click on the "Network DTC" CheckBox.

component13.jpg

Now under the Transaction Manager Communication you need to check both the options, in other words "Allow Inbound" and "Allow OutBound".

component14.jpg

You should select "Mutual Authentication Required" since it's the most secure, then the other two options will be available. After applying the changes click on the "OK" button.