Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI

Overview

 
In this article, we will talk about how we can upgrade our Classic Workspace to the new Workspace in Power BI.
 
We all know that Modern Workspace provides us with the flexibility to have more Roles to access our content in Power BI.
 
We will cover the following points in this article,
  • Reasons to Upgrade your Classic Workspace to New Experience
  • Procedure to Upgrade the Classic Workspace to New Workspace.
  • Check the Permission Model for the Upgraded Workspace
  • Limitations for the Upgrade Process
With this, we will also check the Permission Management for the upgraded users in detail.
 

Why Upgrade the Workspace?

  • Better Access Management
  • More Workspace Roles
  • New Features like Shared dataset
During this article, we will check the step by step procedure to migrate/upgrade our classic Workspaces to the New Workspaces.
 
Example
 
We have a workspace named “Revamped Workspace” which is created with the Classic Version of the Workspaces.
 
Now, we wish to upgrade this Workspace to the New Workspace Experience.
 

Step by Step Procedure to Upgrade Classic Workspace to New Experience Workspace

 
For the existing Workspace, we have the following Permission Applied in our Workspace.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
For the existing report, we have the following Contact list.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Now, let’s start the upgrade process.
 
Step 1
 
From ellipses, click on Edit this workspace.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Step 2
 
Expand Advanced option and click on Upgrade now.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Step 3
 
Check the checkbox and click on Upgrade.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
This will show progress.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Step 4
 
Upon successful upgradation this will upgrade your classic Workspace to a new Workspace.
 
It will show the following prompt.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
The upgraded Workspace looks like the below screen.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Check the Permissions after the upgradation process.
 
In the older workspace we have the following permissions applied.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
Now, when we look at the migrated Workspace permission, this will look like this.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 
The Office 365 group owner is added individually to the Admin role for the upgraded workspace,
  • When the workspace is set to “Members can edit Power BI content” after upgrade the “Office 365 group” is added to the workspace access list with the Member role.
  • When the workspace is set to “Members can only read Power BI content” after upgrade the “Office 365 group” is added to the workspace access list with the Viewer role.
 Also, if you check the contact list, it will look like the following.
 
Upgrade Classic Workspace To New Workspace In Power BI 
 

Limitations

 
We can’t upgrade Content Packs with this method, as Content Packs are not supported in New Workspace. We need to migrate Content Packs with some other methodology.
 

Conclusion

 
This is how we can upgrade our classic Power BI Workspace to New Power BI Workspace Experience.
 
Stay connected with me for more amazing articles!
 
Happy reporting!!