Get the Specific Permission Level From the Site in SharePoint 2010 Using ECMAScript


In this article you will see how to get the specific permission level from the site in SharePoint 2010 using ECMAScript. I have a SharePoint site which has the following permission levels (Navigate to the SharePoint site. Click on Site Actions and then click on Site Settings. Click on Site Permissions in the Users and Permissions section. In the ribbon interface, click on Permission Levels).



Step 1 : Navigate to the SharePoint site (I have a site page created in my site where I am going to add the content editor web part).

Step 2 :
Go to Site Actions, click on Edit Page

vj 1.gif

Step 3 :
Click on the Insert tab in the ribbon interface and then click on Web Part button.

vj 2.gif

Step 4 : Select Media and Content in the Categories section and then click on Content Editor.

vj 3.gif

Step 5 : Click on Add

Step 6 :
The Content Editor web part will be added to the site page.

Step 7 : Click on the down arrow and then click on Edit Web Part.

vj 4.gif

Step 8 : Click on "Click here to add new content".


Step 9 : Click on the Format Text tab in the ribbon interface and then click on the HTML drop down.

vj 6.gif

Step 10 :
Click on Edit HTML source.

Step 11 : The HTML source window will pop up.


Step 12 : Copy and paste the following script.

<script language="ecmascript" type="text/ecmascript">
    var roleDefinitionCollection;
    var roleDefinition;
    function permissionLevel()
        var clientContext = new SP.ClientContext.get_current();
        if (clientContext != undefined && clientContext != null)
            var web = clientContext.get_web();
            this.roleDefinitionCollection =
            this.roleDefinition =
            clientContext.executeQueryAsync(Function.createDelegate(this, this.onQuerySucceeded), Function.createDelegate(this, this.onQueryFailed));
    function onQuerySucceeded()
        alert("Name: " + roleDefinition.get_name() + "\n" + "Id: " + roleDefinition.get_id() + "\n" + "Description: " +
     function onQueryFailed(sender, args)
       alert('Request failed. ' + args.get_message() + '\n' + args.get_stackTrace());

input id="btnPermissionLevels" onclick="permissionLevel()" type="button" value="Get Permission Level" />

Step 13 : Click on OK.

Step 14 : In the ribbon interface click on Save & Close button.


Step 15 : In the content editor web part you could find a button named "Delete Permission Level",  click on that button.


Step 16 : An alert will pop up.


  1. SP.Web.get_roleDefinitions() Property -
  2. SP.RoleDefinitionCollection.getByName(name) Method -
  3. SP.RoleDefinition.get_id Property -  
  4. SP.RoleDefinition.get_name() Property -
  5. SP.RoleDefinition.get_description() Property -
Thus in this article you have seen how to update the specific permission level in SharePoint 2010 using ECMAScript.