How IT Professionals Must Adjust To Azure Certification Changes


Microsoft Azure is an in-demand cloud platform, and out of all cloud service providers, it is the fastest-growing one, with 154% YOY growth rate. Its revenues have been continually increasing, thanks to many organizations moving to Azure cloud every day.
As per an estimate from Microsoft, more than 300,000 organizations are adopting Azure cloud every year, and 1000+ new users are getting added every day.
Cloud computing and adopting Azure cloud bring multiple competitive advantages for businesses. Azure is efficient, easy to adopt, offers instantly scalable resources, consistency, predictable performance, improved flexibility, and robust security.
Azure has been providing various certifications for IT professionals to help them understand Azure technology. The previous approach meant certifications would only help you learn skills, demonstrate your knowledge of a product, but not necessarily validate your competencies as an employee for specific job roles. It led to a gap between the knowledge acquired through certification and the knowledge necessary for job role-related tasks.
To adapt to the changing times and job role requirements, Microsoft conducted detailed research in terms of the skills needed in the market and evaluated how certifications can be more effectively aligned to meet the market's needs.

The result? Introduction of Role-Based Certifications

  • To validate your how-to-use-technology skills and develop your skills needed for specific job roles.
  • Correlate to job functions in the workplace.
  • Help IT professionals’ better market themselves.
  • Emphasize the cloud skills required for specific job roles in real-world scenarios.
  • Enable individuals to grab various job opportunities.
  • To provide clarity to prospective employers regarding qualified candidates.

Certification Levels

  • Fundamental - Starting in technology or wish to change careers.
  • Associate - With two years of experience.
  • Expert - With 2-5 years of detailed technical experience.
Role-based certifications for the following job roles:
  • Azure Administrator.
  • Developer.
  • Security Engineer.
  • Solutions Architect.
  • DevOps Engineer.
  • Data Scientist.
  • Data Engineer.
  • AI Engineer.
Microsoft Certified Azure Fundamentals, Certification Exam: AZ-900: Microsoft Azure Fundamentals.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate, Certification Exam: AZ-103: Microsoft Azure Administrator.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate, Certification Exam: AZ-203: Developing Solutions for Microsoft Azure.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Security Engineer Associate, Certification Exam: AZ-500: Microsoft Azure Security Technologies.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert, Certification Exams: AZ-300: Microsoft Azure Architect Technologies and AZ-301: Microsoft Azure Architect Design.
Microsoft Certified: Azure DevOps Engineer Expert, Certification Exam: AZ-400: Microsoft Azure DevOps Solutions.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Scientist Associate, Certification Exam: DP-100: Designing and Implementing a Data Science Solution on Azure.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Engineer Associate, Certification Exams: DP-200: Implementing an Azure Data Solution and DP-201: Designing an Azure Data Solution.
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Engineer Associate, Certification Exam: AI-100: Designing and Implementing an Azure AI Solution.

Certification Exams That Have Been Retired

Developing Microsoft Azure Solutions, 70-533: Implementing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions and 70-535: Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions - Date: December 31, 2018.
Microsoft Azure Infrastructure and Deployment and AZ-101: Microsoft Azure Integration and Security - Date: May 1, 2019.
Transition exams have been made available for individuals who have passed an exam that either has been replaced or will be replaced. These exams cover changes, have new content, and do not include content covered by the replaced exam.